Something that has plagued me for many years regarding when to attend A&E; and are my symptoms serious enough to warrant a visit. I know for a fact that I am not the only one who suffers with chronic conditions, and has to make that difficult decision. If you don’t suffer, maybe you might think well what’s the big deal.

Around this time last year, I caught Covid and the consequences were dire as many of you know. https://andie01322.wordpress.com/2022/01/12/covid-and-me-disclamer-this-blog-contains-images-of-medical-interventions/ Unfortunately a few weeks ago I was taken to hospital via ambulance and the memories of that terrible time came flooding back. Out of the blue I had a sudden sharp pain in my upper left shoulder blade area. I literally fell to the floor and had to wait until someone could put my tens machine on my back. It felt like a spasm because it was hard to turn, it was painful to take a breath and I don’t mean a deep breath, just breathing was hurting. I did all the usual things one would do, i.e. ice, heat, pain relief etc. for two days then it started to calm down. Day 3 was different. I woke up and sat on the edge of the bed like I usually do, and a sharp pain hit me in my chest area and under my left breast. I got up and went to the bathroom and came back to my room. I could feel my heart pounding out of my chest and my pulse was 130bpm. It was then I thought something is not right, I was extremely breathless…

We all know that if you call the GP or 111, with chest pain they tell you to go to A&E straight away. This is the dilemma I’m referring to, I always have chest pain, mildly, severely and everything in-between. Someone who does not suffer with Chronic pain may not feel the physical consequences of waiting in A&E for 6+ hours. For me, honestly, its hell on earth. I am already concerned that the Myopericarditis has come back, it feels like I’m having a heart attack. In my head I’m battling with all these thoughts. Imagine being concerned that your heart is under attack, and on the other hand, what If it’s nothing serious and I have to sit in A&E for hours to be told nothing is wrong its Costocondritis, you’re fine. My pulse spiked every time I moved, reluctantly I called an ambulance after throwing up. When the paramedics arrived, 3 of them! One of them asked me why I waited 3 days to call an ambulance, I explained what I have tried to explain in this blog and she understood but told me off…

After 7 hours and a barrage of blood tests, I was told it was Costochondritis. My phosphorus levels were low and provided treatment for Hypophosphatemia.  https://www.healthline.com/health/hypophosphatemiama and a course of steroids to calm the inflammation down. Covid has left me with an autonomic dysfunction which I’ve spoken about before https://andie01322.wordpress.com/2022/04/10/autonomic-dysfunction-long-covid/  and I hate to say it or acknowledge the fact that every medical professional I see tells me I have long Covid. Out of all the things I’ve been through, having your heart spike over 130 (I have been told by my Cardiologist to keep it under 100) for no reason because Covid has damaged something or the other, is hard to get your head around. When I caught a cold at the beginning of this month, I felt the same symptoms.

It wouldn’t be a surprise if I told you my mental health has plummeted this month, this episode has really thrown me but I recognise immediately that I’m not in the right headspace and talk to my family about it. I have now refocused and pushing through each day the best I can.

Lessons Learnt

To be perfectly honest I haven’t learnt anything and I guess that’s ok.